Skip to main content

 Join our mailing list

to receive news and
adoption and event notices!

#3005 Rony – UPDATED

ID #: 3005 Age: 1 year Gender: male Status: available

My name is Rony and I am a little over a year old.  I have been in Canada now since February 25th and let me say that you Canadians are a tough bunch with the cold weather.  You see, I came from Egypt where it’s slightly warmer (teehee).  I’m not a big fan of the cold but I’m starting to get used to it.  I like it when you come outside with me to make me feel more comfortable when I need a bathroom break.  But the more time I spend here, the more comfortable I’m becoming, so I should be okay to go out alone in a fenced-in backyard.  It didn’t take me long to get used to my foster family and my foster brother though.  When I first got here, I was a bit ‘crazy’ as my foster mom says.  I would jump at her when she was trying to feed me and almost dumped my kibble all over the floor.  She taught me very quickly how to sit and wait patiently for my food.  Now I sit and leave the food until she gives me the ‘okay’ command and all is good.  My foster mom also calls me a ‘momma’s boy’, as I seem to favour women over men.  I’m okay with men but really love women.  A forever home in which my family is home most of the time would be best for me ~ ideally, a calm and quiet environment, a single adult or couple who are retired, semi-retired or work from home and can dedicate time to my ongoing training and my much-needed walks.

I also need leash training, as I pull a lot with just a regular collar or martingale collar.  I walk beautifully on an Easy Walk harness.  I love my treats and am very gentle when I take them.  My favourite treat has become baby carrots.  I really like to snuggle in bed too.  My foster mom doesn’t mind that but she has forbidden me to be on the sofa.  She said something about it being easier to wash the bedding than to have a sofa cleaned so I just go with the flow around here.  I’m not saying that I don’t try once in a while to get on the sofa but she’s pretty persistent with that one.  I’m also a bit of a ‘nosy’ boy.  If you get up to go to the bathroom or another room, I will try to follow.  I am getting better at staying though.  I have exhibited some separation anxiety, which can be a little embarrassing.  When my foster parents go out sometimes, I get anxious and can’t hold my bowels.  My foster mom says that the biggest problem I have is greeting new people and other dogs.  I am good with other dogs but play rough with them.  I am a jumper and get so excited to see people that I sometimes forget my manners.  We are working on that but I think I will need more training to help me to contain my excitement so a home without children is best.  As far as health is concerned, I have pronounced hip dysplasia and am taking joint supplements. This will have to be monitored but it’s possible that meds and surgery will be required at some point.  So, a house with few or no stairs would be best for me. A bungalow or condo with one floor would be ideal.  I’m told that I am a loving, gentle, and eager-to-please pup who will make an excellent companion once I get more training.  Well, that’s about it for now.  Hope to meet you soon!

Rony is currently being fostered in the Grimsby, ON area. If you would like more information about Rony please call our hot-line toll free at 1-866-712-8444 or email adoption@goldenrescue.ca and one of our volunteers will be happy to return your call.

Share this post

If you are interested in adopting one of the Goldens posted on our website or any of the other Goldens that become available for adoption in the future please click here to fill out the adoption application.