Skip to main content
COVID-19: What we're doing to keep our volunteers and families safe, read more.

 Join our mailing list

to receive news and
adoption and event notices!

Updated

ID #: 3711 Age: 14 yrs Gender: male Status: In-Progress

Hi everyone…my name is Matthew and I’m 14 years young.  When I first came into the GR program, I was quite a mess.  I was seriously underweight and had a boo-boo on my left paw which was really painful.  I was hurting and it even affected my appetite.  You might say that everything in my favour was against me.  Then I met my amazing foster mom.  She took me to the doc and I had surgery which really, really helped.  I am no longer in pain (I do walk with a small limp) and my appetite is totally back, so I’ve already gained five pounds.  I am SO grateful to everyone who helped me through this difficult time and I’ve progressed so much that my foster mom says I’m ready to find my forever family.  Everyone says that you would never guess my age as I am so full of life and super easy-going.  Ah shucks…that means I’m hiding my age well!  I know I’ve got a few years on the clock and I do have a slight condition called hip-dysplasia, but I can still manage the stairs and I can still jump into the car.  Pretty good for an old guy, right?  I am gentle with my treats, loud noises don’t bother me, and you can touch me anywhere…even my paws.  At my age, I would just love to chill with my humans and some calm mature canine companions…either at home or in a fenced backyard.  I do like my short walks and I’m getting much better on the leash thingy.  Now, I do have one not-so-adorable quality which is I like to bark ~ be it when I am excited or when I am left home alone.  I am working on this very hard but you know what they say about teaching an old dog new tricks (haha).  So, my biggest needs are:

  • Someone home most of the time, because I do have some separation anxiety
  • A spacious property, because of my barking
  • A mature home ~ no little children and no young dogs

I will be so pleased to meet you and I can’t wait to spend time with you!!!

Mathew is currently being fostered northeast of Cornwall, ON area. If you would like more information about Mathew please call our hot-line toll free at 1-866-712-8444 or email adoption@goldenrescue.ca and one of our volunteers will be happy to return your call.

When submitting an application, please be sure to check your JUNK or SPAM folders for a response email

Share this post

If you are interested in adopting one of the Goldens posted on our website or any of the other Goldens that become available for adoption in the future please click here to fill out the adoption application.