Skip to main content
Canada’s Dog Ban: Click here to find out how you can help.

ID #: 4487 Age: 3 yrs Gender: female Status: In-Progress

  • A sweet & loveable girl ~ very anxious & is on anxiety meds
  • Needs someone home most of the time ~ will be a velcro girl
  • Fenced, secure yard essential as she’d prefer yard to walks
  • Another calm dog might be great (cats are a no-go)

Venus if you will…
Please send a little girl for me to thrill
A girl who wants my kisses and my arms
A girl with all the charms of you

Oh…hello there! Sorry I was deep in thought listening to my favourite song written especially for little ole me! Yes, my name is Venus and I’m a 3-year-old pup. I say ‘pup’ because I am what you folks call a ‘Covid pup’. I came into the world during Covid and lived in a condo, so I didn’t go outside much so my knowledge of your wonderful world is somewhat limited. I had never been in a car and I had little to no experience with other dogs. I wasn’t even totally house-trained. I’m what you call a ‘Nervous Nellie’ as I suffer from anxiety so I’m on some anxiety meds, which are really helping and hopefully in time I can be weaned off them. Ever since I met the good folks at GR, especially my amazing foster family, I’m figuring out so much about life. For example, I’m now okay to get in the car most of the time. I am house-trained as long as you let me out on a regular schedule and, although I am still nervous around new situations, I have come a long, long way. Now, I’m only a ‘kinda-sorta Nervous Nellie’. My foster family is convinced that this nervousness will continue to get better with patient, consistent love, care, and training. I think so too as I feel myself settling in more and more. I am not a crazy active girl. I am much happier going for short walks and then hanging out in the backyard chasing a toy or chewing on a treat or simply watching the world go by. I do love people, especially ‘my family’. It takes me a bit to adjust to new people because I’m fearful; however, once I get to know them, then I will love them too. I do need more socialization with other dogs and I’m what you call ‘leash-reactive’. I’d actually be fine with another dog in the family as long as they’re ‘easy’. I’m also fine off-leash at a dog park. My big issue is meeting dogs when I’m on the leash, then my ‘leash aggression’ kicks in (I bark and lunge but I’m really not aggressive). In time, this also will likely get better but I will need a strong leader to continue my training. You can touch me anywhere. I am gentle with my treats. I don’t like loud noises but they don’t freak me either. I can be left alone for a few hours if you have to go out without me but my fosters really want a family where someone is home most of the time as I really am a ‘velcro dog’. My vets say I’m healthy although I have to admit I don’t like visiting them. Well, that’s my story. I hope to meet you soon but I have to go and hear the end of my song.

Hey Venus, oh Venus, make my wish come true
Ooh ooh ooh ooh
Ooh ooh ooh ooh
Make my wish come true.

Venus is currently being fostered in the Toronto, ON area.  If you would like more information about Venus please call our hot-line toll-free at 1-866-712-8444 or email and one of our volunteers will be happy to return your call.

When submitting an application, please be sure to check your JUNK or SPAM folders for a response email.

Share this post

If you are interested in adopting one of the Goldens posted on our website or any of the other Goldens that become available for adoption in the future please click here to fill out the adoption application.